Zen and the art of Tinkering

Started by bendelzer, December 17, 2012, 10:15:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bendelzer

I've been tinkering with electronics for 30 years (since preschool really - when i first started taking things apart to find out how they work); and playing music in one form or other since 2nd grade.  I have always loved bringing the two together.  Especially taking broken things and making them work again or making them work better than before.  I also love building things new from scratch.  This is my yoga i think.

But here is the conflict - I have mostly built overdrives, distortions, and compressors.  Many of these I have sold to friends or on ebay.  I'd like to finalize some designs, but am constantly tweaking and changing.  Where do you stop?  When is a design finished? Is there ever finality?

Just curious if I'm alone in this...

Lizard King

Send 'em to me & I'll let you know if they're good enough..... ;D

Bill Mountain

This bothers me too.  You're never quite finished.  I built a distortion pedal I liked and I've made copies for my friends and they liked it.  Now I can hear something in the high end that I want to eliminate.  Do I keep tinkering?  Do I start from scratch?  Or do I realize that no one else will notice the difference?

I think it's time to let this one go.  It might not be the sound I have in my head but it's a good sound and my friends enjoy it.  So I will either work on better lay outs or maybe nicer enclosures but I made a deal with myself not to touch the circuit.  I like to think that this is how manufacturers do it.  If they were trying to achieve the perfect tone then they'd never release a product.

Arcane Analog

Several boutique brands simply use a design as a base and constantly tweak that base to make 'new' products. You can get alot of milage from one circuit.

EATyourGuitar

best advice ever ------> don't give up.