What does this resistor do? - GGG - Guv'nor

Started by Mpesta, January 08, 2013, 11:33:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mpesta

All,

I recently built the GGG - Guv'nor pedal and am loving it!  I had an idea to modify the 680k R6 resistor and when I used 120k and 440k, the pedal didn't seem to work.  I thought I blew the op amp!  So, I whistled past the graveyard and reinstalled the 680k resistor and the pedal came back to life!  Whew.

But in looking at that resistor, I'm thinking it sets the gain on teh second stage.  Am I correct?  If so, shouldn't I be able to use smaller values or maybe even a 500k linear pot in line with w 180k resistor?

This is my first build and my first mod idea.

Thanks for any help,
Mike

armdnrdy

I just designed a new fuzz circuit! It almost sounds a little different than the last fifty fuzz circuits I designed! ;)

Kesh

negative feed back

essential in every op amp audio circuit

(apart from the insane ones)

but, because there is no other resistor at -ve in, it probably does some weird sh*t too.

Mpesta

Thanks guys!

Two follow up questions.

1) Should I be able to adjust that resistor and modify the amount of gain?  If it's negative feedback it's sending amplified signal back into the Op Amp to reduce the amount of gain correct?  So less resistance ought to feed more signal which would reduce the gain?

2) what's the capacitor in parallel doing?  Is it some sort of filter?

Thanks again,
Mike

Kesh

1. yes, normally, but the lack of a dc in resistor confuses me, so i'm not sure. the 0.1uf gets in the way of a normal inverting op amp gain stage. the 680k seems also to be biasing the input. someone with more knowledge will probably show up soon.

2. yes, some frequencies (high ones) will go through the cap, bypassing the resistor, so give more feedback, so less gain for those frequencies

Tony Forestiere

Quote from: armdnrdy on January 09, 2013, 06:15:44 PM
Hi Mike,

You might need this!

http://www.pic101.com/op_amp.htm