recommend a "safe" low watt amp build?

Started by chromesphere, January 14, 2013, 07:54:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chromesphere

Hey everyone,
Not like i have time for this, but was curious if anyone would be able to recommend a voltage / power safe amp build?  I have never built an amp before and it might be a cool side project.  Obviously not keen on working on mains power so I was thinking, maybe something with a dedicated 18v dc input  (which i assume is still very much in the safe zone, even at 1 amp?) that would be cool!  Total noob at amps so sorry if these questions dont make any sense :)
Any recommendations would be great!
Paul
Pedal Parts Shop                Youtube

J0K3RX

Paul, you want solid state I'm guessing? Full amp/preamp setup or just a power amp?
Doesn't matter what you did to get it... If it sounds good, then it is good!

chromesphere

AHH!  Yes i guess solid state would be the easiest to start off with!
Cheers,
Paul

TWANGONE

If you wanted to do a pretty good toob amp... an epi vj only needs it's caps drained to be safe.
low price good watts tons of mods.

LucifersTrip

the Ruby is always a good start, just ask Pinkjimi. It's what he uses in a bunch of his Stupid Pedal Tricks

http://www.runoffgroove.com/ruby.html

always think outside the box

psychedelicfish

What is your definition of low wattage?
with an 18v supply could get you 5W@ 10% THD out of a TDA1905, and all you would need would be a buffer of some kind (the input sensitivity is about right for guitar levels, but the input impedance is only 100k).
If at first you don't succeed... use bigger transistors!

chromesphere

I looked at the ruby, gee didnt know that was what jimi used in his videos!  I might look into that one, ticks all the boxes!
Cheers!
Paul

Kipper4

Check out the Deacy amp kit also over at KAT.com (not affilated)
Make a little treble booster and you have a great set up at 9volts.
It was my first build and it was a good starter for me.