stranded wire vs solder wire?

Started by ashton8504, March 24, 2013, 08:11:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ashton8504

bought a bunch of pedal parts etc. I am a noob and wondering which is better stranded wire or solder wire? :icon_twisted:

EATyourGuitar

You mean to say stranded or solid. Some people like things that look old. Solid cloth wire is one example of vintage correct wire. There may be functional uses for a stiff wire if it holds the pcb in place. All things being equal for the same mass per foot of copper, stranded has more surface area so it may be very slightly better but not by much and not at such low voltages.
WWW.EATYOURGUITAR.COM <---- MY DIY STUFF

ashton8504

whats the best wire to get used to?

EATyourGuitar

I prefer smallbear pre-bonded silver #24 stranded

thelonious

It kind of depends on your preferences or needs in a given situation. Solid wire stays where you bend it and is easier to fit through teeny PCB holes, IMO. Stranded is flexible. I tend to prefer solid because with stranded there's inevitably that one strand that won't go through the hole...

ashton8504

does solid wire coming in different colors?

thelonious

Sure, you can get either stranded or solid in all kinds of colors. Also, the pre-bonded stranded that EATyourGuitar mentioned sounds like the best of both worlds - flexible, but bonded so you won't have stray strands. http://www.smallbearelec.com/servlet/Detail?no=903

tyzjames

I have used solid for a long time but after a while i realised that it has reliability issues. The wire seem to be able to detach itself more easily over time. I like to it holds its position though. I now use standard 22awg teflon wire. Feels very very solid, but bad thing is that its flexible.

EATyourGuitar

Quote from: tyzjames on March 24, 2013, 10:48:48 PM