Tonebender MK1

Started by pauldumbell, April 13, 2013, 08:19:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pauldumbell

So,
I by no means think that I am an expert on anything except determination. I am posting this only as a consolidation of information that I have been told, read or tried while on my search to get a tonebender mk1 that I thought was satisfactory. Now, my opinion of satisfactory doesn't amount to jack squat, but here is what I did, and it worked for me. I followed the original schematic to the letter except for a few things.
First off. Breadboard this one or you will suffer like no one has suffered before.
second, the breadboard is noisy with this circuit, so biasing it sucks. So I didnt even try with swapping the 8.2k resitors.
third, you need leaky transistors.
fourth, not all germaniums are created equal..3 and 4 lead to number five here.
Fifth. If they don't leak enough, fake it. I chucked a 200k resistor across the base and collector of q1 and q2 and 100k across q3 (this is no exact science here I suppose). worked like a charm.
HFE..40 on q1 126 on q2 and 90ish on q3. All my germaniums weren't really leaky enough to give this circuit the oooomph that it needed, and the ones i has that were leaky, were too dang leaky. I really spent tons of time nerding out on this, and I am guessing that you can use this same shebang to fake leakage on silicone as well, although I didnt try it, I already was buttoning this up when the thought came to me. drat.
I just took a piece of plexiglass, drilled some holes in it and made it as it was in the days of yore. point to point. Sounds pretty mean.
put a 50k pot on the input to make it more tameable. sounds good on all settings.

so, that is my little accomplishment from the last 2 weeks of tweaking. thought maybe this info could help someone, or someone else might want to punch me for not making it to the letter.
rock and roll.
Paul

Dingus

pauldumbell

pauldumbell

http://youtu.be/XUeMKH_U2ME