Test Equipment Source

Started by PeterTheRed, May 20, 2013, 01:10:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PeterTheRed

Hi Folks,

I'm just getting started on a first guitar FX build.  Parts are ordered, but I've got nothing to test with!  I've been fortunate in the past to have access to some high-end test equipment, but now that I'm setting up my own bench, I certainly can't afford a fancy Tektronix DSO...

First and foremost, I need a Digital Multi-Meter.  The venerable Fluke 87 is nearly $400 new, and from a very brief search, used ones seem rare.  What are you all using, and where can you find it?

I'd love to get an oscilloscope; I can't afford a 'real' oscilloscope.  Any experience with Hantek / OWON / other low-cost asian 'scopes?  PC-based 'scope systems?  or those little 'ARM nano' pocket portable devices?

If you were looking for used test equipment, where would you look first?

... thanks for helping a newbie get set up.

armdnrdy

Quote from: PeterTheRed on May 20, 2013, 01:10:54 PM
Hi Folks,

I'm just getting started on a first guitar FX build.  Parts are ordered, but I've got nothing to test with!  I've been fortunate in the past to have access to some high-end test equipment, but now that I'm setting up my own bench, I certainly can't afford a fancy Tektronix DSO...

First and foremost, I need a Digital Multi-Meter.  The venerable Fluke 87 is nearly $400 new, and from a very brief search, used ones seem rare.  What are you all using, and where can you find it?

I'd love to get an oscilloscope; I can't afford a 'real' oscilloscope.  Any experience with Hantek / OWON / other low-cost asian 'scopes?  PC-based 'scope systems?  or those little 'ARM nano' pocket portable devices?

If you were looking for used test equipment, where would you look first?

... thanks for helping a newbie get set up.

I have a Fluke 87 for my work...but as far as stompbox building I have found that it has limitations. Frequency and low capacitance.