adding a bias to the silicon fuzz face

Started by estch71, June 13, 2013, 11:42:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

estch71

I just built this and have been searching for a way to add a 10k bias pot to the schematic to, basically, bias the pedal.  Any advice is greatly appreciated.  Also, as I'm new to pedal building, a "dummies" version of placing the pot would be amazing.

Are you saying that I put an abnormal brain into a seven and a half foot long, fifty-four inch wide GORILLA?

LucifersTrip

you remove r3 and connect the middle lug of the pot and either side to the exact same 2 spots where r3 was.

though, you will probably want a 1-2K limiter/cutoff in parallel with one of the pot lugs so you don't have 0K there.

others use a 50-100K pot instead of r2.
always think outside the box

Buzz

Something like this.... don't put the 8k2 resistor in ( r3 )

You might hang around for a more knowledgeable dude to OK it, I'm just a beginner too, but I can't see why that wouldn't work.
I am the Nightrider. I'm a fuel injected stompbox machine. I am the rocker, I am the roller, I am the MIDI-controller!

Buzz

10k pot is linear... 10kB
I am the Nightrider. I'm a fuel injected stompbox machine. I am the rocker, I am the roller, I am the MIDI-controller!

Thecomedian

Yes, that works. You also want to have two of those lugs shorted together with a wire soldered in. if you would normally have one of the lugs going to ground, you instead short that lug to wiper. It's a safety measure for the circuit.

You may also find that the value is either too small and doesn't give enough difference, or that it is too large and makes the unit sound awful or become weak.