2/4 Band Eq Pedal for Bass Fundamental Boost

Started by gedeon, June 29, 2013, 05:17:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gedeon

First thing, I'm completely new to the world of DIY pedals, so forgive any and all on my ignorance please

I'm a bass player that tunes my 5 string down to a G#, which is something around 26hz. I have great eqs, but nothing that boosts lower than 80hz at the moment. I would really like a bass boost eq pedal, something that just boosts the fundamental frequencies. Those are something like 26hz for the G#, 36hz for the C#, and 46hz for the F# and 60hz for the B. I'm not sure if it would be best to do a 4 band graphic eq at each of these frequencies, or maybe a 2 band with a specific Q or something. And yes, I know how hard it is for speakers to reproduce these frequencies, I'm building my own cab tuned to 34hz for just such a purpose :)

I think 12db boost would be fine, but more isn't bad. Most important to me is sound quality. I would prefer only top notch parts and design so the signal stays as clean as possible.

So, what would would people advise me to do? I don't mind building something myself, but I am totally new to this diy stomp box thing. If anyone wanted to build one for me to purchase, I'd be very open to that too.

Thanks, and glad to have joined your community.

gedeon

The more I think about it, I think a 1 band, something like 35hz, with a 2/3 octave Q would work well. Any thoughts?

aron

R.G.

Also the Rane document on constant-Q equalizers and possibly some speaker crossover designs.
R.G.

In response to the questions in the forum - PCB Layout for Musical Effects is available from The Book Patch. Search "PCB Layout" and it ought to appear.

Gus

2nd harmonic of 26Hz is 52Hz, 2nd of 36Hz is 72Hz etc.

Also the output from a bass is a good signal level often higher than a guitar output.  You might have a good level but the rest of the chain might need to be changed