Stupid noob question about buzzing

Started by rehandalal, July 09, 2013, 11:45:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rehandalal

I'm pretty new to DIY pedals and electronics in general. As a starter project I created a little kill-switch pedal (mute switch) that works pretty much as intended. I had a spare 3PDT switch lying around so I ended up using that (I know that it's totally overkill).

The issue I am having is probably grounding related but whenever I touch the aluminum enclosure or the metal parts of the 3PDT footswitch I get fairly loud buzzing. Here's a simple diagram of how it's all wired up:

Any ideas how to solve this buzzing?

Thanks!

tubegeek

QuoteAny ideas how to solve this buzzing?

I'd bet you are using isolated jacks. If so, connect the ground wire to the enclosure near the "in" jack, I assume it's J1.
"The first four times, we figured it was an isolated incident." - Angry Pete

"(Chassis is not a magic garbage dump.)" - PRR

rehandalal

Thanks for the reply tubegeek! I'm using these jacks:
http://www.neutrik.com/en/audio/plugs-and-jacks/m-series/nmj4hc-s

Just wondering:
a] are those isolated?
b] what does isolated mean in this context?

Apologies if these are even more stupid questions that I should know the answer to. :icon_confused:

Thanks!

tubegeek

b) the mounting hardware DOESN'T automatically connect their sleeve circuit to the box.
a) looks like it is isolated - if you have a multimeter see if there is continuity between the sleeve of a guitar cable plugged into the jack and the metal of the box itself.

rehandalal

Ah! Yes it IS isolated.

I'll solder the ground to the box!

Thanks for the help!

tubegeek

Quote from: rehandalal on July 10, 2013, 01:03:43 AM

I'll solder the ground to the box!

Thanks for the help!