Three PT2399 Delay-Verb Layout Questions

Started by seedlings, June 27, 2013, 02:59:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

seedlings

This is what I want to put together based on already existing ideas.  Two PT2399 in parallel feeding a third PT2399, with controls for feedback and delay time of each chip.  I do not know if it will 'work' as I've laid it out.  My breadbords have been used enough that the contacts are unreliable and I'm having trouble getting all three sub-circuits working at the same time.

But, if anyone here has time to check a few things, I'd be grateful.  The schematic is copy/edit/paste from the madbean sea urchin delay - with all original values.  This is my first attempt with DIYLC. That is one cool program.  I tried to get the circuit small enough to fit a 1590BB - this will be my first PCB etch attempt as well.  (Lots of firsts for me.)

Questions:
1) is it OK to feed all three PT2399 from the same LM7805?
2) is a 100uF enough for the main reservoir cap?
3) the sea urchin used a 33R dropping resistor to the LM7805, is this value still OK?  Would an LED be better to drop a couple of volts?
4) should pins 6 or pins 4 be connected for all the chips, or go to common ground, or simply remain isolated?
5) is it OK to directly couple (parallel) the ins and outs of the first two PT2399 subcircuits, or should a mixer pot be employed?  I don't really care if there is a slight volume imbalance between two of the delays, in fact it will probably add character.

Some of the cap values will be changed to taste.  Thanks for your input.

CHAD

merlinb

Quote from: seedlings on June 27, 2013, 02:59:08 PM
1) is it OK to feed all three PT2399 from the same LM7805?
It should just about manage. I think three chips will push about 80 to 90mA, IIRC

2) is a 100uF enough for the main reservoir cap?
Yes

3) the sea urchin used a 33R dropping resistor to the LM7805, is this value still OK?  Would an LED be better to drop a couple of volts?