Gain Issue With Fuzz Pedal

Started by TheJuke, July 11, 2013, 04:55:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheJuke

Hey guys,

I'm new at this so I'm most likely making an obvious mistake but I am attempting to build this muffer circuit: http://www.muzique.com/schem/muff.gif

The issue is that I lose volume(compared to the bypass signal) and have next to no fuzz until I put my guitar volume knob up to 9 or 10 when the volume and fuzz both go through the roof. Has anyone experienced issues like this?

Its super simple so I'm fairly sure I haven't made a mistake connecting everything together. I have the exact values of every part except the transistor but have tried a 2N2222, BC337 and 2N3904 and I get the same result with all 3.

Thanks.

aron

Maybe it's something simple like the 150R resistor is something higher???

GibsonGM

Quote from: aron on July 11, 2013, 06:00:13 AM
Maybe it's something simple like the 150R resistor is something higher???

+1, try a higher value for the emitter resistor; I might even try putting a 10k pot in there as a variable resistor and try dialing around to see if your gain becomes manageable.  And double (triple) check that everything is wired correctly and that your tranny pinout is correct!   

Can you post voltage readings on the C,B, E of the transistor with the circuit powered on, no input?  Do that before changing the resistor, and try to stick with one transistor if you can.    BTW, 5088's are so commonly used, you might think of just getting some if you can!  You'll use them....
  • SUPPORTER
MXR Dist +, TS9/808, Easyvibe, Big Muff Pi, Blues Breaker, Guv'nor.  MOSFace, MOS Boost,  BJT boosts - LPB-2, buffers, Phuncgnosis, FF, Orange Sunshine & others, Bazz Fuss, Tonemender, Little Gem, Orange Squeezer, Ruby Tuby, filters, octaves, trems...

rousejeremy

Any pics of the board? Both sides and not blurry?
Consistency is a worthy adversary

www.jeremyrouse.weebly.com

phaeton

Quote from: TheJuke on July 11, 2013, 04:55:33 AM