Fried amps and a DIY bazz fuss

Started by ckc14, July 16, 2013, 01:32:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ckc14

So I am brand new to this and so far have only successfully built two Noisy Cricket amps.  My current project is a bazz fuss.  It worked fine on the bread board and sounded pretty good when I soldered it together it sounded fine for a minute then fried one of the noisy cricket amps I was using to test it.  At first it made sort of a flapping sound like a blown speaker which didn't surprise me because I was using lousy speakers from an old radio.  So I decided to test bazz fuss with my Vox Valvetronix, oops  :-[ ...  Anyways, now the Vox makes no sound at all except when attached to a cable there is a low pop when I turn the amp on then total silence.

So I went back to the noisy cricket and began my investigation there.  I used alligator clips to test the speakers on the broken noisy cricket with my functioning one and they work so that tells me it is something with the circuit.  I started testing the resistors and capacitors with my ohmmeter and I have one electrolytic cap and one resistor that are suspect, (C1 and R3 on the following schematic http://pedalparts.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/rubycricket.pdf).  I don't think it is the IC or the transistor because I swapped those out independently and together and the amp still made the same sound, although now it sound a little more like steady human flatulence like from the camp fire scene of Blazing Saddles.

My goal is to fix the noisy cricket amp and use what I learn from that to give the guy that is going to look at the Vox a better idea of what might be wrong.  Any tips or suggestions are appreciated.  Also any ideas on what might have caused the bazz fuss to do this to my amps would be good to know.  Are there any precautions I should take in the future when testing pedal builds to make sure this doesn't happen again?

Thanks

Mike Burgundy