testing a buffer

Started by pufferton, July 16, 2013, 08:37:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pufferton

so im about to build my first buffer. i have built a SHO that didnt work at first so i have some experience with troubleshooting the build.

my question is how do i go about testing if my buffer "works"?

testing other pedals are obvious: are you getting unity audio when off and is it producing the desired effect....but a buffer doesn't exactly alter my sound...just help drive my signal through my PT Pro board.

what should i be looking for if i did a good or bad job?

thanks!

mremic01

The SHO will give you quite a bit of clean boost and eventually get a little dirty. If you want to test a regular buffer, the bypassed signal should sound exactly like the effected signal. Unless you're losing high end due to cable capacitance, then the buffered signal should preserve your high end. If your buffer isn't on a switch, then as long as you're getting your signal output, you should be fine. I would use a true bypass looper to test it though, just to make sure that your buffer sounds the way you want it to. I like Jack Orman's JFET buffer. I built the IC buffer from General Guitar Gadgets and found that that one sucked more tone than it preserved.
Nyt brenhin gwir, gwr y mae reit idaw dywedut 'y brenhin wyf i'.

GibsonGM

+1 on the JFET.  Very transparent and just what the doc ordered in a buffer! 
J.O's stuff is excellent.
  • SUPPORTER
MXR Dist +, TS9/808, Easyvibe, Big Muff Pi, Blues Breaker, Guv'nor.  MOSFace, MOS Boost,  BJT boosts - LPB-2, buffers, Phuncgnosis, FF, Orange Sunshine & others, Bazz Fuss, Tonemender, Little Gem, Orange Squeezer, Ruby Tuby, filters, octaves, trems...

Digital Larry

Plug it into a Fuzz Face and make sure it sounds like complete crud (as Fuzz Face type circuits don't like being driven by a low impedance).   :icon_wink:
Digital Larry
Want to quickly design your own effects patches for the Spin FV-1 DSP chip?