First pedal build problems! Help!

Started by simont89, September 27, 2013, 02:01:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

simont89

Hey all! I'm new to pedal making and this forum. I did some little mods to existing pedals before, and had no problems. However, I attempted to make a Crunchbox V1, but encountered so many problems! I based this build off http://tagboardeffects.blogspot.com.au/2011/04/mi-audio-crunch-box.html on a veroboard, so I'm just following the instructions on the board and I thought it would be rather easy. Until...

The pedal has no sound, but if I shift the vero around, sometimes I get a sound, then it crackles and dies off. I've got a video that demonstrates this strange problem.

I redid the wires for the whole enclosure, redid the solder joints TWICE on the board, checked the circuit for continuity, checked for any bridging, swapped out some caps and the op amp before, pots, jacks, etc. Every problem I thought I had, I tried but nothing worked.

The vero layout I followed very meticulously.

I don't see any bad solder joints. I even cut in between the copper to remove any possible bridges, and checked with multimeter for any bridging. *edit, saw a bad joint at the bottom left, fixed it, still doesn't work!

I get really weird voltage readings off my op amp though. It's a LM833. I changed it also, and saw mikestahlme's post here http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=100048.0. Followed the advice there, but it can't work too.

Here are my readings:

1. 4.74
2. 4.77
3. 2.37
4. 0
5. 4.48
6. 0.61
7. 1.38
8. 9.05

And I don't get any readings (0V) for both diodes. I swapped them out for new ones too. Their orientation is right.

What could be causing these weird values? I checked the capacitors that are connected directly to the chip and get the same values.