Tap Tempo question

Started by OptimusPrime, November 07, 2013, 01:30:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

OptimusPrime

Hey guys question. I'm just a beginner to the electronics design world and want to know if this is possible.

Here's my idea: a pedal with a regular non-latching soft switch and LED. but heres the cool part. after you finish setting the tempo, the LED flashes to the tempo you set it at.

Was just wanting to know if this is possible, and if it is, how hard would it be to design the circuit. Thanks
Remember kids, the only difference between science, and just screwing around, IS WRITTING IT DOWN!!!
                                  Adam Savage

garcho

That part is really easy. Have you made a tap tempo circuit before? Any idea what ICs you'll be using? A popular one around here is Electric Druid's TapLFO. It has a whole pin dedicated to 'Tempo LED'.

• SUPPORTER
"...and weird on top!"

OptimusPrime

To answer both your questions at the same time, no  :icon_redface:.
When I ment beginner I ment like this is my first circuit design\ build.
I have virtually no knowledge of how to design a circuit, and very little knowledge about electronic engineering in general.
that's one of the main reasons I joined this forum. was so I could
pick your all's brains and learn how to start doing this.
I will check out the circuit you recommended and If you would be willing to walk me through the process
off constructing the circuit I would be VERY appreciative.
Im very interested in electronic engineering as I plan to into it and study it in depth in college and want to get as
large of a head start in my education as possible so all help is greatly appreciated!

Also im planning to use this as a tap tempo switch for a guitar delay pedal.
Remember kids, the only difference between science, and just screwing around, IS WRITTING IT DOWN!!!
                                  Adam Savage

pappasmurfsharem

Quote from: OptimusPrime on November 07, 2013, 02:45:15 PM