Preamp Studio Projects VTB-1 - No signal, only hum.

Started by stonerbox, November 09, 2013, 05:31:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

stonerbox

Hi guys! Back with another none stompbox related issue.  ;D

My VTB1 broke a while ago and I am trying to repair it (since it is my only preamp). I opened it up a long time ago and a metal surface touched the board, connecting something and sparks where jumping.

I need help in how to locate the broken parts, I am a newbie but have built several guitar pedals. I sent a email to Studio Projects asking for the schematic and are waiting for their response.

What can / should I do?

Crappy images of the circuit:
http://bounav.free.fr/wp/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/vtb1_inside_1.jpg

http://cdn.head-fi.org/8/86/861c4f1d_img001.jpg

L7812CV (positive voltage regualtor) datasheet http://www.datasheetcatalog.com/datasheets_pdf/L/7/8/1/L7812CV.shtml

Pins:
1. 12+dcv
2. 0dcv
3.9+dcv

I marked up all the op amp positions here:
All op amps:

"U1" 4580D JRC Datasheet http://pdf1.alldatasheet.net/datasheet-pdf/view/204246/KODENSHI/KK4580D.html
1. 0dcv [OUTPUT 1] (get signal from mic here, fairly strong with hum)
2. 0dcv [1IN-]
3. 0dcv [1IN+]
4. 12-dcv [GROUND]
5. 0dcv [2IN+]
6. 0dcv [2IN-]
7. 0dcv [OUTPUT 2] (get signal from mic here, fairly strong with hum)
8. 12+dcv (VCC+)

"U2" 2082D JRC datasheet pdf http://pdf.datasheet.su/njr/njm2082d.pdf

1. 0dcv [OUTPUT 1] (get no signal from mic at all)
2. 0dcv [1IN-]
3. 0dcv [1IN+]
4. 12-dcv [GROUND]
5. 0dcv [2IN+]
6. 0dcv [2IN-]
7. 0dcv [OUTPUT 2] (get signal from mic here, strong with hum)
8. 12+ Dcv (VCC+)

"U3" LM339N Datasheet http://www.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/pdf/3071/MOTOROLA/LM339N.html

2. 0dcv [OUTPUT 2] (get no signal from mic at all)
3. 9+dcv [VCC]
4. 6.1+dcv [INPUT1-]
5. 0dcv [INPUT1+]
6. 2.9+dcv [INPUT2-]
7. 0dcv [INPUT2+]
8. 0dcv [INPUT3-]
9. 0.1+dcv [INPUT3+]
10. 0dcv [INPUT4-]
11. 0dcv [INPUT4+]
12. 0.2dcv [GROUND]
13. 0dcv [OUTPUT 4] (get no signal from mic at all)