Tube Reverb Pedal?

Started by vigilante397, November 20, 2013, 07:04:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vigilante397

Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to this, but I'm an electrical engineering student and have started building pedals as projects for my classes. My goal is to make only tube powered pedals (I'm currently working on my own rendition of the Matsumin Valve Caster ^_^).

So I'm considering my project for next semester and was wondering if anyone knows of schematics for a valve-driven reverb pedal? I've seen them from T-Rex and Blackstar, but I'm really starting to dig DIY pedals and was hoping to do it myself. Thoughts?
  • SUPPORTER
"Some people love music the way other people love chocolate. Some of us love music the way other people love oxygen."

www.sushiboxfx.com

mth5044

Are you looking for a spring reverb or digital reverb?

There is a fender tube reverb unit - not sure if you are looking for something mains powered or 9v.

If you are down for digital, you could place some tube buffers around an belton reverb brick, or build one of the many pt2399 reverbs from this forum, replacing some components with tubes.

Finally, if you are looking for a 9V tube spring reverb unit - I'm not sure I've ever seen one. It wouldn't be too hard, you'd need one stage to prep the signal for the reverb pan then a second for recovering post reverb pan. Check out the Stage Center reverb and modify from there.

vigilante397

Thanks, I checked out the fender tube reverb unit, but it seems like that's more of an amp(?) than just an effect.

Does anyone know anything about the Blackstar HT-Reverb?

http://www.blackstaramps.com/products/ht-reverb/

It seems to me like it's a digital reverb that uses a tube for a preamp circuit, which I think is more the direction I'm looking to head in.
  • SUPPORTER
"Some people love music the way other people love chocolate. Some of us love music the way other people love oxygen."

www.sushiboxfx.com

vigilante397