i think i built a frequency shifter

Started by jaapie, December 10, 2013, 11:57:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jaapie

i've had an intellectual fascination with ring modulators and frequency shifters for a while now-- i just think it's really cool that i can basically apply some boring identities that i learned in trig and calculus to sound waves in real time. plus it sounds cool. anyway, i fell down a thought-hole a few months ago while reading about XOR gates used as ring modulators (as in some korg synths) wondering if i could somehow cheat an XOR gate into working as a multiplier for analog signals. This is the result of the past few months of pondering on my daily 90 minute commute.

I'll spare everyone the convoluted thought processes that eventually led me here, so please ask questions if i'm not being clear or if i forget something. I'm sure this sort of thing is pretty textbook, but I'm relatively new to these things. Here's a simplified block diagram of the circuit on my breadboard right now:

The guitar is beefed up a little by a preamp and then run through a simple dome filter using 4 opamps. I calculated the values for the filter using a program i found online intended for SSB radio designs; 4 opamps seemed like the fewest possible to still get close to 90 degrees across the guitar spectrum (or up to 1.5kHz or so, i can't remember exactly). The sine and cosine signals are then each sent to the input of their own switch-hitter. The non-inverting inputs are either grounded or left floating by 1/4 of a CD4066, controlling whether the signal is inverted or not. Together, they act as pulse-width controlled multipliers.
I've got MSP430 microcontroller programmed to generate a PWM'd quadrature sine wave oscillator.This part probably needs the most work because i've got almost no programming experience with anything lower-level than an arduino; I managed to squeeze a quadrature oscillator out of it but it's pretty far from ideal.