wooden enclosure

Started by Nikos, December 13, 2013, 07:29:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nikos

Hey there, i'm new to the forum.. I'm also new to the stompboxes stuff. I'm living in Athens Greece and it's very difficult to find aluminium enclosures for pedals in any stores I know. And the shippings costs from ebay it's to expensive for one or two enclosures. So I'm thinking of wooden enclosure for my fisrt try. And here come the questions...
1. Can anyone explain me when & where to use chassis ground?
2. I read here http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=80914.0 about risk of RF interference with wooden enclosure, and you must lined the box with copper foil. Is there any more specificated info on this?

Thanks & sorry for my english!

GibsonGM

Hi Nikos,

You certainly can use wooden boxes, with good results!   There was someone on here a few years back who made great hand-made ones.

You will have to line the box, but you can use ALUMINUM foil instead of copper, which is MUCH less expensive!    :icon_mrgreen:

You need to tie your input and output jack grounds to the foil, as well as your circuit ground.  This will create a shield around your effect so you do not pick up radio noise.

I've built circuits into PVC end caps, lined with grounded foil, and it works fine.   I also line the pickup cavities and pickguards of Stratocasters this way, and make them much quieter on stage.  Just make sure the foil is continuous all around the box, and do not short out your PCB on the foil!   

Let us know how it goes.
  • SUPPORTER
MXR Dist +, TS9/808, Easyvibe, Big Muff Pi, Blues Breaker, Guv'nor.  MOSFace, MOS Boost,  BJT boosts - LPB-2, buffers, Phuncgnosis, FF, Orange Sunshine & others, Bazz Fuss, Tonemender, Little Gem, Orange Squeezer, Ruby Tuby, filters, octaves, trems...

italianguy63

Hey Mike-- I never gave that any thought... would aluminum Air Conditioning tape work?  i.e. stick to itself and conduct?