*yawn* BSIAB2 question

Started by swinginguitar, December 23, 2013, 03:07:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

swinginguitar

I built a couple of these back when (with contour pot...GGG version), and really liked how it gets very liquid/saturated, but found that it just wouldn't clean up (even with the gain low it was very gainy, and the volume knob on the guitar won't clean it up).

So I put them away and haven't given it much thought, but recently I was reading that different JFETs make it sound/feel different (IIRC I used J201s I had on hand).

Honestly, I was thinking about picking up a CMAT Brownie (heard some demos I really like), but am now wondering if I could just quickly/easily mod mine to match what he does. Thoughts? What JFETs are "stock" on the Brownie? Is it possible to get that liquid lead sound but still have it respond to attack/touch/volume knob?

Did I not bias it correctly?

alphadog808

Hey man.  I'm no expert, but I just built one.  I believe the BSIABII is supposed to have 2 J201s and 3 2N5457.  I think the J201s are Q3 and Q4.  

I messed around a little trying different combos of those jfets and from what I remember, the J201s made the pedal more aggressive and harsh.  The 2N5447s gave it a bit more mid/brown sound/feel.  However, I think I didn't like all of them being 2N5457 as it lost some clarity.  Bottom line, it does make a difference, but you have to just try and see.

As for bias, I believe the trimpot will take care of it.  However, I did notice a difference when I used matched J201s over 2 random J201s.  Seemed like it was hotter, in a good way.

Hope that helps.

waltk

I like all 2n5457's.  Cleans up a lot with the drive turned low.

scott1568

I agree. The pedal will be more compressed than say a fuzz though.

swinginguitar

concerning the bias pot - am I looking for 4.5v at the drain?

waltk

Quoteconcerning the bias pot - am I looking for 4.5v at the drain?