Temperamental Deep Blue Delay

Started by phythian, January 09, 2014, 07:59:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

phythian

Hi all, first post here and I'm fairly new to pedal building.  Have had success with all builds so far, but the DBD (nocentelli's vero layout) is not starting every time for me, and I can't figure out why...

When it's not working, I just get the bypass signal (I have it wired to a 3pdt and it is definitely switching fine).  If I remove and replace the regulator, it usually starts the delay effect.  Same if I remove and replace the power supply plug, but only if I do it quickly - if I take more than 1 or 2 seconds between removing and replacing the 9V plug, it doesn't work.

I've tried numerous regulators (78L05) and the one in there now measures at right on 5V - when the effect is working.  However, when it's not working, the voltage sits lower, at around 4V.  All other voltages also sit around 1V lower than they should too (only when it's not working).  I've checked and rechecked my work and just can't find any mistakes in it.  Knifed all the gaps, cleaned the regulator socket holes, there's continuity along the tracks.  I don't get it...

I'm using a really heavy duty power supply - it's a great big unit normally used for commercial security systems, very well regulated at precisely 9V, 2.5A.  Could it be there's too much current for the 78L05's liking?

So any ideas on where the problem could be?  The good news is that I have an interim fix, using the power cycle I mentioned above.  But a more permanent solution would be nice, just need to know where to start looking  ???

Thanks in advance  8)

bluebunny