Foxx Tone Machine debug/HELP!!

Started by jhferguson, January 28, 2014, 03:38:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jhferguson

Ok I went through the debug thread and have a nice template all typed up and ready to get my readings on the transistor when I noticed that everything on the board is reading at the same voltage as the 9v.

9v = 8.5

Q1
C = 8.5
B = 8.5
E = 8.5

D1
A = 8.5
K = 8.5

All resistors and caps read that way as well. I am kind of new to a multimeter when it comes to measuring the voltages of small things like transistors and diodes so I could very well be doing something wrong. According to the GGG website the measurements should be something like this.

9v = 9.26

Q1
C = 2.2
B = 0.73
E = 0.16
Q2
C = 7.5
B = 2.2
E =1.6

Is this an obvious sign of something specific? The pedal itself actually works but the sound is very washed out and it only really sounds good with the sustain turned up all of the way and even then it does not sound that good and fades out quickly but I can heart it wanting to work...lol What do I need to do in order to get some real readings that I can troubleshoot with? Btw, I have the multimeter set on 20v DC. Thank you for your help.

jhferguson

Ok update....almost embarrassed to say this but in my haste I did not insert a 1/4 plug in order to activate the effect. Once I did that I was able to get the measurements that I needed in order to get the correct support. So here it is....thanks for looking.

As the title states I have been working on the Foxx Tone Machine clone from the GGG website.

Here are the links to the schematic and the layout and wiring diagram that I used.

Schematic - http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/pdf/ggg_ftm_sc.pdf?phpMyAdmin=78482479fd7e7fc3768044a841b3e85a
Diagram - http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/pdf/ggg_ftm_lo_2fsw.pdf?phpMyAdmin=78482479fd7e7fc3768044a841b3e85a