Stomplabs Max. O.D. - Humble startups first product demo! What do you think?

Started by lungdart, February 05, 2014, 11:35:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lungdart

Hey guys, new to the DIY pedal scene, but I've been an electronics hobbyist for many years, and professionally for about 4 years, and I've been playing guitar for about 15 years.

After a move, I started working for a guitar pedal startup. I gobbled up the opportunity immediately. We are a team of 2, working out of Nova Scotia. I have been involved with this project for 1 year now, and we have just finished development! It's called the Max O.D. It's our first product in our XPressLane lineup which gives you advanced expression control over everything. This overdrive is a tweaked model of the TS9. Here's the demo!

We use a hybrid system of Digital and Analog. All analog effect chain, with digital controls. The basic premise is to read physical pots into a micro, and use that to program digital pots on the analog side of things. We had to do a bit of engineering to get the audio chain noiseless and allow for smooth transitions while adjusting the knobs. The benefits of the hybrid system mainly allow us very advanced expression control. The expression input can be mapped to any single or combination of controls on the pedal. Want to adjust the gain up while adjusting the tone down? We can do that. We also incorporated an expression out port, which follows the expression in, letting the next effect think it's seeing the original pedal. This allows us to use a single expression pedal to control any combination of controls across multiple pedals.