News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

Transistors

Started by daz061, February 22, 2014, 07:12:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

daz061

hope this is understandable, im not too good at putting in words what i mean. if a projects asks for certain transistors but you dont have them you may have another that will do the job tucked away somewhere,  what is the best way to go about finding replacements like what specs do you look at that are important etc

jrod

You might try a google search with the part number.

Also you could try searching for the part you have on alltransistor.com and looking at the list of equivalent part numbers.

www.datasheetarchive.com is another site that will show possible substitutions.

R.G.

1. Get the correct kind: bipolar (NPN/PNP), JFET, MOSFET
2. Get the correct material ( silicon versus germanium)
3. Get the right polarity: NPN/PNP, N-channel or P-channel
4. Get enough voltage rating. Generally for 9V powered pedals you can't get any that won't work because they're too low. Most small signal devices are good for 20-50V.
5. Get enough current and power rating. Generally for 9V powered pedals you can't get any that won't work because the power/current needs are small.
6. Get enough gain for bipolars. Generally, you want hfe of at least 100, preferably 200-600.

This line of reasoning led to Keen's Second Law: when in doubt, use a 2N5088. There are remarkably few places needing an NPN silicon in a pedal where a 2N5088 won't work OK if not great. The near-ubiquitous 2N3904 comes close too, it's just not as quiet or high gain. The 2N5086/87 and 2N3906 are good generic choices for PNPs.
R.G.

In response to the questions in the forum - PCB Layout for Musical Effects is available from The Book Patch. Search "PCB Layout" and it ought to appear.

daz061

Thanks, some good advice here.

duck_arse

I'm a big fan of the second law, except I take great delight in reaching for a BC548B, every time. well, first off.

welcome to the forum.