Rehousing danelectro CTO-1 no signal when engaged :/

Started by bluesjammin, March 22, 2014, 11:49:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bluesjammin

Ive followed a rehouse guide step by step of the Danelectro cool cat trem here http://www.harmonycentral.com/forum/forum/Forums_General/acapella-94/294239-
I assumed my CTO-1 would be the same as far as wiring up goes.
when testing the pedal with pots and jacks and new dc connected, the pedal seems to be not getting power (led connected correctly and not coming on) the signal passes through pedal fine when turned off but just dead when engaged. ( vol pot light dusty/crackly noise can be heard when pedal is on and turned up and down.)
Im not sure if my power is connected properly. I have double checked soldering joints and wiring and cant see any bad connections. please help!!

vigilante397

I'm not an expert on these matters, but my bet is on the power jack. I know if you're looking at the back, the top is your hot lead and the left (where you have the black wire connected) generally goes to ground. Where does the other wire you have connected go?
  • SUPPORTER
"Some people love music the way other people love chocolate. Some of us love music the way other people love oxygen."

www.sushiboxfx.com

bluesjammin

its power from the pcb not sure which is pos or neg etc. "Now take the two power wires running from the middle of the PCB, one is red, one is brown. The red wire goes to the tip of the DC jack, the brown goes to the sleeve. Then take the jumper from the output jack lug and solder it to tip of the power jack. You can do this to test the function of the pedal before housing it

vigilante397

Quote from: bluesjammin on March 23, 2014, 12:34:48 AM