Using a transistor as a diode.

Started by blaren, March 23, 2014, 05:50:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

blaren

I'm a noob here and pretty much in pedal building. Mod/repair all my tube amps, all my wahs, most of my ODs, have built a few fuzzfaces.
I am WICKED with an iron, work safely in old high voltage holding tube amps, and can follow a layout like NObody's business lol. Ask me what is doing what or why whats where...or show me a schem and I'll go...uhhhhh...wha...???? slobber...drool...

SO...lol...I'm gonna build me an Eternity clone (from a kit...slobber...hun??) and only have the one type of diode coming. I might have one or two others kicking about, I have some LEDs, but I also have some Ge and Si transistors. I know you can use a transistor as a diode by connecting the (iirc) B&E together and using that as one leg with the Collector as its own leg (I might have the C&E mixed up) but...I don't know where you would and wouldn't want to use a tranny as a diode, whether to use a Ge or Si, what gains, how much leakage is acceptable when used as a diode...all that stuff.
I could just start experimenting but man...that's a LOT of options/combinations. Oh...and I assume you'd wanna use NPN transistors? Or could you use PNP ..or use pnp backwards? ..so yeah..
I searched and didn't find much on google. I wouldn't know where to start "playing"..NPN? PNP? one of each but the pnp backwards? Si? A Si and a Ge? ...you get my drift. I could be testing for WEEKS! And who knows, if it's a good idea and if I find I like the sound of them I might WANT to be messing with them for weeks.

Have you fellas tried using transistors as diodes in a bufferless tubescreamer type pedal (Eternity flavor)? And if so, how did you like them? what kind did you use? their gains and leakage and polarity and construction....???
Thanks in advance. and I'll be back with results of course if/when I mess with any.

PRR

It is not important to connect any legs together.