Center positive power supplies

Started by vigilante397, May 28, 2014, 03:17:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vigilante397

This is mostly just for the sake of my curiosity. I've been building for about 6 months now, and when I first started I picked up a batch of five 12V 1A power supplies on eBay for about $1.50 apiece. The catch? They were center positive. I was new to pedals as I had pretty much only used multi-pedals previously that had their own special power supply, so I didn't realize center negative was standard. So what did I do? I wired all my pedals backwards  :icon_twisted: The main advantage here (aside from my cheap power supplies) was that I could use metal jacks on metal boxes without the infamous positive voltage to ground issue. Whenever I make things for someone else I of course make them center negative, so I keep a center negative power supply on hand to test them, but I've lost a couple diodes and an opamp or two because I forgot which way I wired a pedal and plugged in the wrong power supply  :icon_rolleyes: But I still use the power supplies and every pedal on my board (except my tuner, which I obviously didn't build) is wired backwards to take my center positive power supply.

So basically I was just wondering if I'm completely insane and am the only person in the world that does this, or if anyone else out there does it too?  :P
  • SUPPORTER
"Some people love music the way other people love chocolate. Some of us love music the way other people love oxygen."

www.sushiboxfx.com

deadastronaut

firstly you are a cheap ass.. ;D

but hey if it works, sod it.. 8)
https://www.youtube.com/user/100roberthenry
https://deadastronaut.wixsite.com/effects

chasm reverb/tremshifter/faze filter/abductor II delay/timestream reverb/dreamtime delay/skinwalker hi gain dist/black triangle OD/ nano drums/space patrol fuzz//

Jdansti

Yes, you are insane!   ;D