Making a simple mute switch. A light switch should work, right?

Started by essunset, June 19, 2014, 01:37:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

essunset

If I'm not mistaken a standard light switch is just a latching SPST switch. It should be as simple as wiring the positive terminal from the input jack to the other positive terminal on the other 1/4" jack, then with the negative wires, wire them to the terminals on the light switch, and of course the ground has a socket on the light switch as well.

Now this should all work out in theory, I guess everything works out in theory. But is it really that simple or am I missing anything?

I want to do this because I don't want to move the tuner to the end of my pedal board, and I have a delay pedal with alot of repeats so if I hit a bad note, or something devastating happens I can simply flick the light switch with my foot and my guitar is OVER.

Anyways this is my first build and I'm starting small.
Thanks in advance!!

PRR

Yes, this will work.

Possible problem: light switches are alloyed for BIG current. The contacts tarnish (insulating oxide), but the surges burn-off the tarnish. When used on small current, the tarnish never gets zapped away. Eventually the switch never "closes" (conducts the small current). It acts "OFF". In your case, shorting-out a signal, "off" means some or all the signal gets through.

When I used 6 Amp heavy-duty toggles for ~~0.020 Amp network signals, about every 3 years I'd get a call that the network was "down", and replacing the switch cured it.

It is possible that light switches also have a self-wiping action, so a few snap-snaps might burnish off enough tarnish to "fix" it. For a while.

And yes you can get light switches for $0.19, a lot less than most alternatives.

But do you need these hassles while you are trying to entertain a Paying Crowd?