What type of capacitors should I use?

Started by PearseSwail, June 19, 2014, 09:35:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PearseSwail

Hey guys,

I'm new in the wonderful world of pedal making... And I have the basic gist of it, however, I have no clue how to choose which capacitors to use...

I'm planning on building this- http://www.tonepad.com/getFile.asp?id=89 -but how can I tell what type of capacitors past the values? I see on the diagram which ones need to be electrolytic, but for the non-polarized caps does it matter if they're film or ceramic for this application?

Also, I'm assuming low voltage caps will suffice... But again, how can I know? 16V or 25V?

Thanks very much,

Pearse Swail

italianguy63

I've kind of wondered the same....

Is there a time where (box) film, mica, disc, or MLCC is preferred?  Of course, a disc is probably noisier.  But say, is there a time to use a "greenie" vs. a box film?

MC
I used to really be with it!  That is, until they changed what "it" is.  Now, I can't find it.  And, I'm scared!  --  Homer Simpson's dad

merlinb

For guitar pedal work, it really doesn't matter. Any type will do. It matters more in hifi.
As for voltage rating, most of our circuits work at 9V, so it is a safe bet to use caps with a higher voltage rating than that. More than 20V is a good choice since it makes the pedal a bit more robust against accidentally (or deliberately!) plugging in a higher-voltage supply. There's no upper limit; heck, you can use 450V-rated caps if you want to (and can fit them in the box...  ;))

R.G.

Capacitor selection considerations:
1. Voltage: have to have enough.
2. Value: It has to be the right(ish) value. Capacitance value matters a lot where you're using it to discriminate frequencies or timing, not much at all for simply power bypassing.