Help with newbie's circuit: attenuator + line out, treble boost

Started by cherny, June 24, 2014, 05:48:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cherny

Hi all,

First time poster here, and absolute beginner at electronics. I'm planning to build an attenuator with bypass, treble boost, and line out, fixed at 8ohm. This device goes between the amp output and the speaker input. I modified the Weber MiniMass circuit (http://freestompboxes.org/members/soulsonic/schematic/WeberMiniMASS.gif, thread at http://www.freestompboxes.org/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2287), and would like to check if my modifications (including component values) are correct, before I fry my tube amp   ???

Modifications I made to the MiniMass:
1. Removed the voice coil motor assembly
2. Replaced the Volume rheostat Rh1 with an 8ohm 100w L-Pad
3. Removed the impedance switch circuit (the SW2 block). Since the L-Pad is 8ohm, this should give me a fixed 8ohm impedance in the entire circuit, right?
4. Changed the line out resistor values from R1=10k R2=4k7, to R1= 4k7 R2=470. I actually don't understand why the original MiniMass circuit doesn't have the line out resistor values at a 10:1 ratio as recommended elsewhere, can anyone explain?
5. Moved the line out circuit to after the bypass switch

Seems pretty straightforward, what I'm most unsure about is the resistor values in the line out block. If anyone can confirm that my circuit is correct, I'd be most thankful...

MrStab

i don't have much to contribute beyond the observation that you might wanna consider the mechanical action of the switch if bypassing speaker loads. personally, i definitely wouldn't want a break-before-make kinda switch, even for a millisecond, but i don't know if a make-before-break system would be safer. those terms are often applied to rotary switches and the likes, too - footswitches seem to be even less varied in their function.

just one paranoid amp owner to another!
Recovered guitar player.
Electronics manufacturer.

PRR