Optical Tremolo build error - no sound

Started by wanchope, June 27, 2014, 05:32:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

wanchope

Hi everybody, I create a new topic, as I tried to post in an old similar topic but seems like nobody has seen it. If it's a problem to duplicate the post just tell me and I'll erase it.

I am trying to make a tremolo w/rate variable on the fly, inside an old volume pedal case. So I built Das Tremolo kit from Musikding inside that case and everything looks ok (double checked all solders etc.), but when the pedal is activated doesn't play any sound. The led flashes right on time with the LFO, so i guess it should be something wrong with the IC1.
I try to report the values I measured on IC1, but as i'm a newbie I don't know which is to be called P1 rather than P2 P3 etc...so I simply report them as they appear (imagine you have the pcb in front of you):
P1 4,75       P5 9,54
P2 4,75       P6 4,75
P3 4,53       P7 4,75
P4 0           P8 4,53

when the fx is (should be) bypassed, still signal is not 100% dry, i feel just a touch of tremolo mixed in.
Anybody could help me? Any idea?

Thanks a lot in advance

drolo

It could be an error with the outboard bypass wiring. Verify that. You can also audio probe the signal path and check where the signal gets lost.

This page has some info on how to go about it:

http://www.diystompboxes.com/pedals/debug.html

bluebunny

Those voltages look OK to me.  BTW, you got the pin counting slightly wrong - it continues counter-clockwise.  So you got 1,2,3,4 in the right order, then it goes 5,6,7,8 from bottom to top on the right-hand side (see below).  Other than that, do what David suggests.  And welcome!  :)

______
1 [ o    ] 8
2 [      ] 7
3 [      ] 6
4 [______] 5
  • SUPPORTER
Ohm's Law - much like Coles Law, but with less cabbage...

wanchope