Opamp causing Garbled sound, why??

Started by R Spencer, June 27, 2014, 10:14:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

R Spencer

Hey guys,

First post but I've read hundreds, including several massive threads started by Deadastronaut (Hey Rob!)

I have a problem. I'm a newbie so I don't have a lot of ideas on how to fix this.  I have read the troubleshooting post but that was not much help.

I built a preamp. It works great.  This is the link to that schematic. http://www.jer00n.nl/2010/07/28/clean-boost-for-guitar-or-bass/

I decided to add tone controls so I connected the output of the preamp circuit to the input of this circuit. http://sound.westhost.com/project28.htm.  Funny thing happened, the sound comes through but at a much lower volume and all garbled.  I made an audio probe and went backwards through the circuit until I found the change in sound. I noticed that the signal going into the initial opamp (I assume just a buffer) is fine and sounds normal.  However on the output, number 6 pin of a TL071, the garbled sound begins.  The rest of the circuit I think is working correctly as the tone controls seem to be working on the garbled sound. I think that if I figure out the buffer problem everything will be ok.

FYI, I used all TL071 opamps as that is all I have.  I did switch out the buffer opamp to see if that cured the problem but it stayed the same. I then added 10nF and 100nF bypass caps to both the 9v pos and neg inputs of the opamp to see if that would help but the problem remained the same.

I am a true newbie, this is only the 3rd circuit I've built on a breadboard so any and all suggestions will help.  I don't know if it is a polarity problem, bias issue, wrong opamp for the job... or what.

Thanks in advance,

Randy

wilrecar77