new to csom stuff! help

Started by njkmonty, July 01, 2014, 08:48:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

njkmonty

i came across this which i would like to implement, but with some revisions if possible.
iv read that you can make the chip sequencial from 2 to 10  stages.
is there a way of counting in reverse by incorporating another momentary  switch and diodes with pin 15 of the chip? (i thought i saw something similar on web doing that )
also  is it possible to incorporate a 7 seg display with this circuit? does that need an extra chip do do that ? like 4026?

~arph

Nope,

If you need to drive a display and more then 4 outputs, you'd need at least three IC's at a quick glance.
Two CD4029 to do the decade up/down counting and one CD40110 for display driving.

MrStab

i'm no expert with CMOS, but i have considered similar things from time to time. if you want a reverse option, maybe you would be better off using an up-down counter like the 4029? (arnoud beat me to it!)

http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/cd4029b.pdf

i can't help much beyond that suggestion, sorry. hopefully someone else can!
Recovered guitar player.
Electronics manufacturer.

Seljer

I assume you mean CMOS not CSOM :D

First point of reference is the datasheet: http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/cd4017b.pdf
The 4017 is a decade counter, i.e. it counts to 10. On the schematic drawn it's only counting to 6, when the pulse gets to the 7th output (pin 5) it's connected to the reset pin (pin 15) which makes the counter start over. Hook up the reset pin to whatever output and it'll only count up to that one.

If you wanted incrementing relays combined with an numerical indicator as well as the ability to go both up and down with just CMOS chips you'd probably have do use something like:
4029 - Presettable up/down counter, binary or BCD (binary coded decimal - 4 bits representing a number from 0 to 9 : 0000 0001 0010 0011 0100 etc...) <- to do the actual counting with "up" and "down" buttons