Taking nut off foot switch (for more height) bad practise?

Started by MrStab, July 02, 2014, 09:13:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MrStab

hi,

this is probably a straightforward engineering question, but i'm not a straightforward engineer. or an engineer at all.

say i needed just a tiny bit more height in an enclosure, would removing the "inner" nut on ye olde blue 3PDT compromise sturdiness at all? less grip? other forseeable problems? i'd be using one of those tooth washers, if that makes a difference.
i know the less switch sticking out the top, the better, to avoid people hitting it from weird angles, but the alternative is an oversized enclosure or more board space/offboard wiring with Milennium Bypass.

i've used a lower-profile 3PDT in a build - a black one with no obvious brand - but i can't find a consistent source of it that's local enough for me (UK).

cheers!
Recovered guitar player.
Electronics manufacturer.

armdnrdy

I just designed a new fuzz circuit! It almost sounds a little different than the last fifty fuzz circuits I designed! ;)

drummer4gc

If you really torque down the nut to secure the switch to the box without the inner nut, it's possible to detach the threaded shaft from the switch body. It's not hard to do if you're an overzealous tightener like me.

armdnrdy

Quote from: drummer4gc on July 02, 2014, 09:28:06 AM
If you really torque down the nut to secure the switch to the box without the inner nut, it's possible to detach the threaded shaft from the switch body

I have an easy fix for this issue.

Don't over tighten the nut!  :icon_wink:

Yes....one can snap off bolts, strip screw heads, etc,etc, but....you have to tighten things in a liberal manner.
I just designed a new fuzz circuit! It almost sounds a little different than the last fifty fuzz circuits I designed! ;)

joegagan