Sustain effect sans ldr? Recommended schems and tips welcome!

Started by Clips, July 07, 2014, 03:42:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Clips

I'm fairly new to the whole diy pedal scene and still trying to learn the ins and outs, so please excuse my ignorance  :icon_redface:

That being said, I have a general question: is it possible to create a sustain effect with a positive feedback loop alone (and a summing circuit if need be) and no ldr/heatshrink/led combination, or is is more of a secondary effect caused by high-gain circuits? Can it be done with something clean and with no or little distortion? say, a booster?

I played with feedback loops a little last night and feel as though I achieved something fairly satisfactory, but after fiddling with the circuit a little more I wasn't able to go back and recreate it.  :-\

I googled for a while about this, but can't really find any info aside from the pages and pages of "keyboard sustain foot pedals". Any info or explanations is appreciated.  :)

merlinb

You mean an acoustic feedback effect ("sustain" is normally a synonym for a compression effect). One way to do it would be to have a footswitch that engaged a positive feedback loop, causing a gain stage to start oscillating. The tricky part would be to make the oscillation build up in a gradual, musical way when you hit the switch, rather than just slamming on like a Morse code key!

Mark Hammer

I'm getting the sense that Clips uses "sustain" in the manner that many compressors are either peddled ( :icon_rolleyes: ), or perceived by users: i.e., as a source of "sustain".