output ceiling ???

Started by djp8djp, July 08, 2014, 11:37:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

djp8djp

Hi. I probably should have posted here in the first place  :icon_redface: . I tried another forum first, and got very little help there. I'll know better next time.  :)

I'm still a newbie at all this, but I've learned a lot by building a few guitar effects pedals. I'm hoping someone with more experience can suggest what might be wrong. This project is for a guitar onboard preamp, and I have encountered a strange problem. It's for the Bass-Treble module. It seems to have an output "ceiling". What do I mean? Well first, here's an intro to my project.

I pulled the filter design from an old application note (can't recall which one, I'll try to find it). But I have laid it out in LTspice, and tweaked the values to suit my needs. It's a "hinging" control, effectively a combination of two opposite-gain shelving filters, both having the same cutoff. It connects to a single linear pot, which in the middle position produces null effect (flat response). But turning it one way or the other will boost Treble and cut Bass, or vice versa. I wanted more Treble effect than Bass, and have balanced the circuit as such. So I finally got it to work fine in the sim (I know, that doesn't mean it'll work in the physical world, but it's a start).

To prevent interaction with the inductance of the guitar pickups, I have an initial unity-gain buffer that is fed directly from the guitar output. The buffer is implemented in one half of my dual op amp, and I used the other half to drive the filter. I added a resistor and capacitor between these stages - the resistor to insulate the op amp output from the load of the capacitor, and the capacitor for DC-blocking. The op amp is fed from a bipolar power supply that I built ... linear regulated +/- 15V. I connect its ground to the ground seen in the filter circuit on the op amp + input, which is also shared with the guitar signal ground.