HELP! Trying to make a XLRtoXLR/PHONE A/B switching pedal

Started by sleejay80, August 02, 2014, 05:13:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sleejay80

Hi.  I'm trying to make a XLRtoXLR/PHONE A/B switching pedal.
Similar to this Radial offering,
http://www.radialeng.com/hotshotabo.php
but with one of the output as a phone jack.

IN will be a vocal mic, OUT-A will go to PA Mixer for much of the time, but in some occasions I will step on this pedal to route my vocals into my guitar looper(phone jack), to make vocal loops.

I am a novice at electronics, but I have built a guitar true bypass looper before.  I was wondering if I could use that knowledge and a 3PDT switch for this as well.

I have drawn a diagram of what I thought up, but I am practically clueless, so if this is just out of whack, would someone please write me a diagram, or link me to one?

If I'm on the right track, here are 3 questions that are floating in my head.

I would really appreciate it if you guys can lead me on this project.  Thanks!

Questions:

[1] Where should I connect #3, when going out to OUT-B? (marked by pink question mark)

[2] OUT-A 2&3 and OUT-B TIP are not grounded when disconnected.  Is that alright, because for a true bypass looper for guitar pedals, everything needed to be grounded when disconnected.  (I've read somewhere it IS alright in case of dynamic non-phantom-powered mics, little pop noise)

[3] Will the IN > OUT-A to Mixer signal still be balanced?

vigilante397

First of all, welcome to the forum :)

Second of all:

[1] If you're using a mono jack for the looper it should be bridged to the tip of the jack. If you're using stereo that would go to the ring connector.

[2] That should be fine, though in some circuits not grounding the input can result in noise leakage (bleeding through).

[3] Yes.
  • SUPPORTER
"Some people love music the way other people love chocolate. Some of us love music the way other people love oxygen."

www.sushiboxfx.com

sleejay80