Would appreciate help - vintage Ibanez FL9 flanger has no effect - SOLVED

Started by DangerousBeans, August 03, 2014, 05:35:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DangerousBeans

So I bought a 1984 FL9 from John Grimsley at Supersonicmods 6 years ago, it had been refurbed and has worked beautifully until now. Well, except perhaps a slight volume boost, which didn't seem to be there originally but crept in over the years - but that could simply be the changes in my set-up, it didn't bother me too much.

Me: I'm not an electronics expert but I'm ok with a soldering iron, I manage to fix most things with a combination of Google and a very basic understanding of which components do what, and I've built a couple of BYOC pedals. I have a multimeter and a signal probe but no oscilloscope.

A few weeks ago, the pedal stopped working. As in, it sounded different - there was something there, but it just didn't sound like a flanger any more. I had a look inside and couldn't see anything obviously wrong like loose wires or blown capacitors. I found the hard-to-read service manual (http://www.mojotronics.com/images/FL9.pdf) and decided my problem was I had no effect, there was definitely a sweep going on. And when I came back to it another day - the sweep had gone, but the effect was definitely there - turning the knobs changed the sound as expected, it just didn't sweep. It seemed to me like a solder joint gone wrong, so I went round and re-soldered everything. After this, there was no effect whatsoever. The LED comes on but there is no change in sound when the pedal is engaged, not even the slightest click or change in sound as it switches, the sound is clean and continuous. Could I have short circuited somewhere? I cannot find where. Or burned a chip? My soldering iron is 18W, not too powerful. Could it be that the switch is now just switching the LED and not the rest of the circuit? How do I test that?