Why the small resistor in series with power?

Started by loki, August 04, 2014, 10:41:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

loki

I've seen in several schematics the habit of having a small resistor (usually 47R or 100R) from the +9V connection to the circuit components that require power. Why is it used?
I'm no electronics expert but I know that a resistor reduces power by some amount, depending on the resistor value. A 100R resistor what difference can it make?

anotherjim

It does 2 things.

Primary - Forms a low pass filter with the power supply capacitors - helps reduce audio and radio frequency noise on the power supply.

Secondary - Protection - It will limit supply current in a short circuit fault. It may well go up in smoke, but it might have saved everything else. If it's only momentary fault, the protection may work long enough to stop any damage ever happening. A fuse on the other hand will blow - and that's the end of that until you change the fuse.

davent

Should also be an electrolytic cap, 47u, 100uF....  to ground after that resistor which together will filter out noise from a power supply. Small value resistor so voltage drop across it is minimized. I power the LED from before filter as the LED has the potential to be the most power hungry part in the pedal.

Circuits dead quite powered by a battery can get noisy even from a great power supply, this little filter can kill the demons.

SLow typist here.
"If you always do what you always did- you always get what you always got." - Unknown
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/photobucket-hotlink-fix/kegnjbncdcliihbemealioapbifiaedg

Seljer

And a typical effects pedal circuit hardly ever consumes more than a couple of milliamperes (unless it's something fancy with clocks and LFOs like a chorus or a delay).

Let's say theres a 100ohm resistor installed in series there and the you've got a fuzz pedal that draws 3mA.

as per Ohm's law: 100ohms * 3mA = 0.3V