Guitar wiring as stompbox: possible?

Started by telperionflower, August 13, 2014, 07:26:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

telperionflower

Hi guys. I'm new here, in fact I'm new to pedal building; right now I'm just gathering information.

I had an idea that a good first build (and something that would be eminently useful to me) would be putting my volume and tone controls in pedal form. For example, I'd like to remove the volume and tone wiring from one of my guitars (both pickups go into the same volume and tone controls), and run the guitar after the pickup switch to a pedal with two sets of volume and tone that I can switch between for solos and rhythm, or whatever. I'm only really interested in doing something like this if I can get the controls do the exact thing they would in a guitar. Ideally I'd control one of the volume pots with a volume pedal kind of setup instead of a knob. Right now, I'm just curious if this is possible, or if there's some reason why it can't work. I know a lot of guitar players just ride the knobs (i'm with you from a tone perspective), so this might seem silly to you, but it would make the fast song transitions in my band a lot easier. If you feel so inclined to post diagrams, I wouldn't mind that at all. Thanks!   :icon_wink:

Transmogrifox

Very easy project from an electronics point of view -- and I don't see any reason it would make an appreciable difference in the sound unless you run a 50-ft cable or something hideous like that.   All you're doing is taking the same parts and putting them into a different enclosure.  It all works the same.

The mechanical part is more challenging, but not too bad if you have some wah or volume pedal parts to cannibalize.  This sounds to me like more of a mechanical project than an electronics project.