Built a simple buffer, but losing some volume/tone. Could this cap be issue?

Started by Jamez0r, August 21, 2014, 12:01:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jamez0r

Hey guys, I am a novice pedal builder and decided to build this buffer out of some spare parts I had laying around: http://www.beavisaudio.com/techpages/Buffers/Buffer_OrmanTransistor.gif

I plugged it in, and noticed that I seem to be getting some loss of volume/tone. I triple checked my circuit layout and know that everything is in the correct place, but also then noticed that the cap I used for C2 is a BI-POLAR electrolytic capacitor. I didn't even know those existed, since I had built the buffer out of some spare parts including parts that my friend gave me, I assumed all electrolytic capacitors were polarized (I assumed the longer lead was the positive side).

Could this be the issue causing my volume/tone loss? If so, could someone explain what is going on electrically when I use a bi-polar cap instead of the correct polarized one? I'd say I'm losing about 20% volume and a lot of the treble.

Thanks a lot!

GibsonGM

No.

That cap should be fine....think of it as 2 electrolytic caps back to back, if you want...it simply has no polarity.   Works either way.  I like them, and use them instead of polarized where possible with no problems, ever.  They just don't need to be oriented a specific way for the dielectric to function, is how I understand it.  Polarized ones DO need that.

Now, it COULD be 'dead', and that may contribute to what you're saying, but that's reaching.

What are your voltages, per the "debugging thread"?

What are you using for a FET?  You SURE that 1M resistor is actually that value?  If not, that would totally explain your problem....so may having the FET pinout wrong.