Anyone using EAGLE for PCB design or similar? Noob layout design questions!

Started by steveyraff, August 28, 2014, 10:32:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

steveyraff

Hey guys,

I haven't been building pedals for a while as I've been busy with other work. But I was on a learning curve and had been extremely busy before I stopped, at one stage building half a dozen at once for friends etc. I've stopped for too long and need to get back on the saddle before I forget all I was learning.

Heres the problem though - I was building drive pedals using PCB layouts I'd found online, but I was modifying them quite successfully with a variety of other features. Before I start back up, I really want to design my very own PCB layout, incorporating all my mods, effectively creating my own layout.

I've never done this before so its very confusing. A friend who works with electronics gave me a copy of EAGLE and even started my design for me. He did most of it in fact. However, before I even begin to finish it I need to amend a lot of it. He seems to have re-arranged a lot of it so the pads are not corresponding correctly to each joint of each component. If that makes sense.

Anyway, here is my question - in EAGLE is there a built in feature that creates correct spacing for resistors, capacitors and other components?? I've no idea how to get all these measurements correctly - and I've over 150 components  ! ! !  :icon_eek:

Is there a better, easier program I should be using to do this or is EAGLE quite good??    :icon_question:

Many thanks as always,
Steve.
Steve.

www.outlandstudios.co.uk

italianguy63

I've done some Eagle work.  It has a learning curve, and a lot of time to get the hang....

What you need are component "libraries" that have the components drawn as you need.

Gausemarkov has one:

http://gaussmarkov.net/wordpress/tools/software/eagle/eagle-2-libraries/

And, I think the other one I use if from MadBean.

MC