Military grade components? Also, perfboard

Started by mvotre, September 18, 2014, 04:02:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mvotre

hi there.

First, sorry for some english errors (not a native speaker).

I had a account here since 2007, but just now I'm returning to DIYing. Already made a distortion and a TS a looong time ago.

Now, I'm studying all again, first to build some small amps (found a never known love with my Smokey amp those days), and them some pedals for myself. But I got this questions :

1 - what about those so called military grade/premium stuff for the components? I found that the mil. generally means components with stupid tolerances to high/low climates and stuff like that. Some high quality components seens (from what I saw) to have some smaller tolerances (like 1% instead of 3% of variation in the values - made numbers here). SO, the question is: for some home made pedals, wich I will just use at home, high grade components make a difference in sound? Since the values in guitar effects are small, those variations will affect tone? Tried to find some tests/info on Google, but couldn't find nothing. With so, all components are better, or just some? I'm not building to try to save money or something like that, so if high quality components really have some audible differences, I will first build with cheap local found pieces, and them biuld a better version, with the expensive stuff. If it just sounds virtually the same, cheaper parts = more projects  :icon_cool:

As I said, I tried to google that, and even searched in this forum, but couldn't find anything. If someone have some links, please share!