component problems

Started by Sahiru, September 21, 2014, 05:47:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sahiru

Hey...
I am new to guiter pedal building.. and i met with some problems on my projects..
1) I wanted to build a colour sound sustainer pedal. http://www.freeinfosociety.com/electronics/schemview.php?id=315 
and the BC169B is very hard to find in my country.. Can you please suggest me with equivalent transistors?

2) And i want to build this fuzz pedal.. http://www.instructables.com/id/Fuzz-Pedal/
In this fuzz pedal there are two types of Potentiometers. Linear Taper Potentiometers and Audio Taper Potentiometer
Can I use general potentiometers for them??

3) 2N3904  is also very hard to find... any equivalent for that???

Thank you very much

italianguy63

Maybe 2N5089 for both answers...  MC
I used to really be with it!  That is, until they changed what "it" is.  Now, I can't find it.  And, I'm scared!  --  Homer Simpson's dad

Sahiru

Thank you. by the way what about those potentiometers?

+i don't know how to use forums. lol :-D

Seljer

Depending on where you're located you might also find it easier to get something out of the following:    BC107, BC108 , BC109, BC337, BC338, BC546, BC547, BC548, BC549, BC550 or maybe even the older 2N2222
The data sheets for all of them basically say "general purpose NPN transistor", some have slightly more gain or less noise or higher voltage ratings than others but they should all work in a 9V fuzz pedal. Just remember to check the pinouts when you're putting at all together!

Audio taper potentiometers are usually labelled "A"
Linear taper potentiometers are usually labelled "B"
I say usually because some manufacturers use a different system which makes everything a bit confusing :P http://www.resistorguide.com/potentiometer-taper/
So a 10kiloohm linear taper potentiometer would be marked "10kB" or perhaps "B10k"