FET Preamp Cable

Started by bancika, September 21, 2014, 09:26:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bancika

Hi,
I recently installed piezo in my acoustic and wanted to build some sort of preamp. This ( http://www.till.com/articles/PreampCable/ ) came up and seems interesting. It says in the article that it can be plugged straight into 48V powered mixer without having to build the pedal part of it. Anyone tried it and can confirm that it would work. I wouldn't want to fry my interface or something :)
Thanks,
Bane
The new version of DIY Layout Creator is out, check it out here

drolo

Hi Bane,
I'm not too experienced with phantom power but looking at the till info it seems ok. I don't think it could do any harm to your interface (as long as the phantom power is not shorted I guess)

But I hope someone with better understanding will chime in ;-)

bancika

Thanks! I'm a bit puzzled because two pins 1 and 3 of the xlr are connected together...so it's lile regular mono cable on both sides. I know nothing about phantom power, maybe it's ok.

Seljer

Phantom power or the mixer side is 48V supplied through two 6.8kiloohm resistors. So even if you short it out to ground it's not going to draw more than 7mA.

In theory if you shorted 1 and 3 together at the preamp end instead of at the XLR there may be a slight benefit to the noise rejection. (pin 1 goes to the shield)

bancika

So you think that these 4 components will be enough? :) That's awesome, I have to give it a try.

Seljer

It'll work just fine for how simple it is, not much headroom though so no use with super high output humbuckers :D

Heres something that'll give you a somewhat better balanced output if you're going to be exclusive using it with phantom powered mic inputs but at the the cost of many extra components. It probably won't fit in a jack with all the large capacitors required.

bancika

I need it as a piezo preamp for acoustic. I guess it's not as hot as humbuckers on electrics, but haven't measured