Bazz Fuss Different Sounds

Started by Nimise, September 27, 2014, 05:15:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nimise

Hello I am really new to building guitar pedals and a while back I built a bazz fuss(http://www.forrestwhitesides.com/node/42) I believe everything is the same except I used a bat41 diode. The effect works fine but there is something I am curious about concerning its sound. When I plug my guitar directly into the pedal it sounds like a fuzz and if I turn the volume down on my guitar it just starts making farting noises and the notes do not sustain at all, they either come threw or they are completely cut off. On the other hand if I plug my guitar into an ehx metal muff(not engaged) before the bazz fuss it sounds a lot more like an overdrive pedal with more high end. Now if I turn the volume down on my guitar it acts almost like a gain control and I can get a just slightly overdriven sound that responds to how hard I play. Can anyone tell me what is going on here? I know the metal muff is not true bypass but how could it change the characteristics of the bazz fuss so much. Thanks in advance for any insight!

GibsonGM

I suspect that the metal muff may have a buffer that is always engaged, even when the pedal is bypassed, the way Boss pedals are set up.

If so, that could account for the effect you're noticing.  A buffer allows the pedal following it to take all the current it wants, instead of being so sensitive re. your volume pedal or anything that came before it (overly simplistic explanation here, but that's kind of the gist of it!  It doesn't affect the impedance when you turn your vol. down).     Lots to learn about this stuff - you're in the right place, and it's a good question!   Read a lot, and ask questions...starting with "buffer", I suppose!   Post again if you want more info.

Happy building, and welcome! :) 
  • SUPPORTER