Bourbon fuzz

Started by WhiskeyMadeMeDoIt, October 05, 2014, 11:37:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WhiskeyMadeMeDoIt

I have been tinkering with this fuzz for awhile now and I think its done. You may have seen the other versions called the OMG fuzz. At this point its pretty far removed from the original design. I will post a demo later in the week when I get some time to record. Until then please have a look and offer any feedback you may have. It would be appreciated. There have been many parts of this taken from other sources and i will try and list them. The first stage is a Fetzer valve from ROG. The second stage is something that I have been playing with for a few months hopefully it is original but the more I look it seems everything has been done. The last stage is a simple amp. and the tone control is from Mark Hammer SWTC. Many thanks to CozyBuilder who has helped me with testing and circuit mods. I think he is working on a variation of this now for other FETs on the front end. The 2n5457 can't be subbed without rebiasing the Fetzer and it has caused problems for CozyBuilder when he tried to sub with a 2n5458. All the other transistors should not be too sensitive to subbing. I have used a 2n5088 for the 2n3904's. I hope some kind soul will try and breadboard this as is to verify it works. I have boarded it twice with different parts and it seems solid. The circuit can go from a mild overdrive up to a nice fat fuzz. The body control makes the fuzz meatier when dimed out and lots of high harmonics when zeroed. The Fuzz/Shred switch when open is fuzz and when closed is more of a defined distortion.

midwayfair

Looks good overall.

I'd suggest moving the tone control before T4. Right now your output impedance is really high (almost 130K), and you've already got the transistor there; you might as well use it. You'd also end up with some extra output if you do it that way.

Just use a trim pot on Q1's drain.