Non board mounted pots

Started by Adamo, October 06, 2014, 07:36:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Adamo

I'm pretty new at pedal building having only built two pedals thus far. I'm in the middle of another build but this is the first one where I do not have board mounted pots. When I'm finishing it up and putting everything in to the enclosure should the board just be in there loosely or should it be connected somewhere? Also, do I need something in there to prevent a 'short' against the side of the enclosure?

Many thx!

Seljer

As you've deduced, you need to prevent it from dancing all over the place because if something were to short out, that would be bad.

A popular solution are self-adhesive plastic standoffs such as these http://www.smallbearelec.com/servlet/Detail?no=76
Another option is just double sided tape (it's usually non conductive so you can just stick on the back without any problems)
Yet another solution is to make use of the little ridges inside the aluminium enclosures and make it so the PCB fits in there.
Or if all else fails, hot glue, but it doesn't really stick to the enclosure that well.

bloxstompboxes

I find that the wiring usually keeps it from moving side to side to much. My boards are usually wide enough that there is not much movement anyway. As far as shorting on the backside of the board to the pots and so forth, I use a piece of corrugated cardboard wrapped in electrical tape, sized about the same or more than the board, and stick it underneath it. It's similar to like what commercial manufactures do like Boss. They stick a thick plastic sheet on the back of theirs between the board and the backplate.

Floor-mat at the front entrance to my former place of employment. Oh... the irony.

Processaurus