Posible uses for this list of valves

Started by Kaahrl, October 09, 2014, 08:25:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kaahrl

I found old radios (50s, 60s) and I might be able to get my hands with more. so, I got some valves and a shitload of components. one of the three radios was as easy as plug it in, (the radio function does not work)  and when the guitar is plugged in,  the sound couldnt be better!! so, the rest just give me pieces and I would like to start making my own sound system since its free! so, this is the list of valves I got so far and since Im new to this (as new as it can get) I would appreciate if you lead me to what I can do with them.

-ECH81 (x2)
-EBF89 (x2)
-EF86
-EM81 (x2)(I believe this is only a show valve oscilloscope like)
-EL84 (x2)
-ECC83 (this is used in the blackstar pedals)
-and one without name witch looks almost exactly like the ECC83 but a bit smaller.

I also got some red painted valves (they look ancient)
-Mullard ECH3
-EF8 (might be broken since they make noises when moved like something is inside free)
-EF9 (might be broken since they make noises when moved like something is inside free)
and a gigantic one that I cant see any name on it XD

I also got what I thing are valves, but they are enclosed in metal and I can't see any names.

Well, my goal is to make a guitar amp, with EQ, metal distortion,  reverb and delay (I thought about look after valve versions of this pedals and integrate them in the amp, with posibility of bypass with a controler pedal and efect mix) and then I make a cabinet with the speakers (witch are a lot more kickass than I would imagine).
I know is ambitious but I cant help it hehehe, I will take it step by step!!

So, can I do that with the valves at hand?

amptramp

The first step is to understand the stuff you got.  To do this, go to:

http://tdsl.duncanamps.com/tubesearch.php