Bazz Fuzz - No Sound - Debug

Started by mow, October 12, 2014, 03:12:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mow

Hi,

I just joined the forum and first of all want to say hello to all of you!

Today i built the Bazz Fuzz after the schematic of Fuzz Dog (former poodlespedalparts) on perfboard.
I use the MPSA13 and thus a 10K resistor instead of a 100K.

I soldered everything in place, but it just doesnt seem to work! No sound at all!
I tried to debug it myself and tested alot: Everythings wired to ground, batterys full, connections seem solid, wired everything after the schematic, swapped the transistor, swapped a resistor, took the voltage (after the first resistor (not CLR for LED), i got ~1,25 V. After both capacitors the voltage is at zero, before, ~1,25V. I used WiMA film caps.

Im absolutely desperate  ??? :icon_confused:

I built 2 easy kits before, which worked perfectly in the first place.
This is my first build on vero.
I´ve got pics, i just dont know how to upload them?
I hope you can help me solve this mystery ;D

Greetings mow

Elijah-Baley

I use to upload the image on imngur and use the url web link to insert in the post.

Anyway, the circui is very simple, check the orientation of diode (or led) and transistor, and polarized caps (if you used them).
Are you soldered the footwsitch already?

I'm testing a bazz fuss now. Gound and negative battery go to the sleeve of the jack output. Check the wiring.
«There is something even higher than the justice which you have been filled with. There is a human impulse known as mercy, a human act known as forgiveness.»
Elijah Baley in Isaac Asimov's The Cave Of Steel

mow

Hi,

No, I haven´t soldered the footswitch yet, wanted to test the board before.
I used film caps, thus non polarized. The transistor should be correct, collector is, where the signal goes first right? And the black stripe on the diode indicates that thats the negative side, right? If that´s the case then it should be correct.